How do I review settings related to my ID being stored on Facebook?
Over the next few months, we're updating how www.facebook.com looks. Learn more about how to switch between New and Classic Facebook. Click below to go to the directions for the version you're using.
If you send Facebook a copy of your government issued ID to confirm your identity, we may use an encrypted copy of the ID for up to one year to help improve our automated systems for detecting fake IDs and related abuse. If you submit an ID, you can choose to opt out of your ID being used for this purpose, and instead it will be deleted within 30 days in accordance with our standard policies. If you have submitted an ID you can review and edit the choice you made about Facebook's use and retention of your ID in your Facebook settings at any time.
To review your ID storage settings:

New Facebook
  1. Click in the top right.
  2. Select Settings & Privacy > Settings.
  3. Under General, go to Identity Confirmation and click View, then enter your password.
  4. Click in the top right of the Confirming Your Identity section, then click Settings.
  5. Your current ID storage settings will appear. Click Edit to change your settings.
  6. Click Save to confirm your ID storage selection.
Classic Facebook
  1. Click in the top right of Facebook, then click Settings.
  2. Under General, go to Identity Confirmation and click View, then enter your password.
  3. Click in the top right of the Confirming Your Identity section, then click Settings.
  4. Your current ID storage settings will appear. Click Edit to change your settings.
  5. Click Save to confirm your ID storage selection.
When this setting is turned on, encrypted photo(s) of your ID(s) will be kept for no longer than one year to help improve our automated systems for detecting fake IDs and related abuse.
When this setting is turned off, encrypted photo(s) of your ID(s) will be deleted within 30 days of submission or of turning this setting off.
Was this information helpful?