How iCloud Drive works
When you turn on iCloud Drive on your devices, your files are stored in iCloud and changes are kept up to date everywhere. Once a file is added to iCloud, you can access it on iCloud.com and on any device where you’re signed in with your Apple ID.
Turn on iCloud Drive
First, set up iCloud Drive on each device where you want to share and access files. You need to sign in with the same Apple ID on each device. This way, you see the same files and folders on each device.
If you have devices with iCloud Drive turned off, files on those devices aren’t kept up to date with files on devices that have iCloud Drive turned on.
Learn how. See Set up and use iCloud Drive on all your devices.
See changes everywhere
Files and folders that you add to iCloud Drive are stored in a central place—iCloud. If you make changes to a file or folder stored in iCloud on one device, those changes stay up to date on all your devices and on iCloud.com. Changes include the following:
Adding an item: If you add a file or folder to iCloud Drive, you can see that item on any device that has iCloud Drive turned on.
Reorganizing or renaming items: If you rename a file or reorganize files into different folders, those changes appear everywhere.
Deleting an item: If you delete a file or folder stored in iCloud Drive on any device, it’s deleted from all your devices.
Files you delete in iCloud Drive are moved to a Recently Deleted folder on your iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, and iCloud.com; and to the Trash on your Mac.
Recently deleted files can be recovered for 30 days. If you permanently delete a file from the Recently Deleted folder or empty the Trash on your Mac, you can’t recover those files.
Collaborate with others
You can share files and folders stored in iCloud Drive with others, just by sending a link. If you share a Pages, Numbers, or Keynote file, you can allow anyone with the link to view or edit the document. Changes stay up to date for every collaborator on all their devices, too.
To learn about other features you can use when you turn on iCloud, see What is iCloud?