All newly created apps start in out in development mode. You can use the App Dashboard to switch any app between development mode and live mode, except for test apps, which are always in development mode.
Apps in development have access to all permissions and features, including those that normally would require approval from the Login Review process. However, when an app is in development mode, the following restrictions will be applied:
Note that some products, such as the Pages API, place additional restrictions on apps in development mode. Refer to each products documentation to find out if it has additional restrictions.
You can add a user to an app with one of four different roles: administrator, developer, tester or Insights user. Each role provides a different set of permissions to the user. We recommend that you only give as much access to a user as they need. This provides greater security for your app and opens it up to less harm in the situation that the user's account is compromised.
Administrators have complete access to an app. They can change all app settings, reset the app secret, remove the app, and view Credits and Insights. Administrators can also add/remove other users to/from the app and change their permissions. Administrators of apps should only add other users as administrators if they are fully trusted and must have full control of the app.
In order to add a user as an administrator of an app, the user must have a verified Facebook developer account.
Developers have access to the app and all its technical settings that are needed to run, edit and test the app. Developers can modify all technical settings for an app, which are accessible through the App Dashboard. They can also see Insights for the app.
Unlike administrators, they can't:
In order to add a user as a developer of an app, the user must have a verified Facebook developer account.
Testers can test the app in development mode. They cannot edit any app settings, give other users access to the app or access Insights for the app. The tester role is the most harmless and hence should be used for all users who need to test the app in development mode. In live mode all users will have access to the app.
You may only add a person as a tester to your app if they are your employee or you have an agreement with them which establishes that they are acting on your behalf as a tester of your app. For example, a tester should be a part of your quality assurance team and be responsible for testing your app for bugs, errors or other issues that could have a negative influence on its general performance. If a person is no longer testing your app, you must remove them from this role.
Analytics Users can only access analytics for your app. They cannot otherwise interact or log into the app while in development mode and do not have access to edit any of the app's settings.
We often hear of cases where an app is taken over by an impostor who comes in and changes the app settings, causing much pain to users and developers until this is discovered and fixed.
We allow you to specify a whitelist of IP addresses that must be used to update the app settings. This helps prevent attacks by ensuring that only developers using the company IP addresses can update app settings.
This whitelist can be set in the Advanced tab of your app settings in the App Dashboard.
Once specified, any app update request coming from a non-whitelisted IP address is rejected. This whitelist applies to updates made using API as well as the UI.
In the event that such a takeover does take place, we have built a notification system to expedite discovery and recovery from such takeovers. This notifies relevant individuals when any app settings are changed using the App Dashboard. The notification contains information about what change was made and by whom.
An app can register an email address to which these notifications should be sent in the Advanced tab of app settings.